Go Ye and Preach My Gospel

I have had the privilege of immersing myself in the Old Testament over the last month. It is wonderful to see how key principles of the gospel are taught in this ancient scripture.

chalkboard3.jpgI’ve been thinking very much lately about missionary work for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. Most of my 7th Floor friends have either started their mission papers, received their calls, or entered the MTC. I am reminded of a scripture in the Doctrine and Covenants that we had the chalkboard of our commons room (pictured):

Wherefore, go ye and preach my gospel, whether to the north or to the south, or to the east or to the west, it mattereth not, for ye cannot go amiss. (D&C 80:3)

Another scripture along those same lines is this:

Go ye into all the world, preach the gospel to every creature, acting in the authority which I have given you, baptizing in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. (D&C 68:8)

A passage we came across today in my Old Testament class is called the Priestly Blessing and applies so well to this subject:

The Lord bless thee, and keep thee: / The Lord make his face shine upon thee, and be gracious unto thee: / The Lord lift up his countenance upon thee, and give thee peace. (Numbers 6:24-26, KJV)

To all the 7th Floor missionaries, God be with you! Go forth into the world and preach the gospel. May the Lord bless you!

Comments are closed.

