University Chorale concert

I went to the BYU University Chorale concert last Friday (as I mentioned in my previous post) and wanted to write a little about it.

First of all, this group is amazing. I thoroughly enjoyed the concert. Luckily, they reproduced most of the lyrics on the program, so I’d like to put my favorites here.

Come, with Cheerful Voices Sing

Come, with cheerful voices sing,
On this gladsome, wondrous night,
We would make our praises ring,
And with Thee our joys unite.
Grateful hearts to Thee we bring,
Lord, accept our offering.

For the sweet and pleasant springtime,
Gentle hearts and home’s dear love,
For the autumn’s harvest treasures,
Faith and hope that soar above.
Grateful hearts to Thee we bring,
Lord, accept our offering.
–Johann Sebastian Bach

This text, especially the second stanza, reminds me of “Thou Gracious God, Whose Mercy Lends“, a song I love very much.

Sure on This Shining Night

Sure on this shining night,
Of starmade shadows round,
Kindness must watch for me
This side the ground.

The late year lies down the north.
All is healed, all is health.
High summer holds the earth.
Hearts all whole.

Sure on this shining night
I weep for wonder
Wandering far alone
Of shadows on the stars.
–James Agee

I suppose this poem could mean different things to different people, but when I first heard it, I imagined that some great period of the speaker’s life is coming to a close and he is trying to deal with it. He acknowledges that much good has come of it, but feels a great sadness for the emptiness that is now filling that space he has so treasured.

My Song in the Night

O Jesus, my Savior, my song in the night,
Come to us with Thy tender love, my soul’s delight.
Unto Thee, O Lord, in affliction I call,
My comfort by day and my song in the night.

O why should I wander, a stranger from Thee,
Or cry in the desert Thy face to see?
My comfort and joy, my soul’s delight,
O Jesus, my Savior, my song in the night.
–Anonymous

I agree wholeheartedly with this text. Christ is my Savior, and I turn to him for peace and comfort. In my darkest hour, I can “cry in the desert” and He will hear me, bring me back into His fold.

Comments are closed.

