End-of-term woes

So spring term is just about over. Today was the last day of classes. I feel pretty sad, actually. I have very much enjoyed this term, both for the setting (spring term is a lot quieter than fall/winter), and for my classes. I still miss the BYU 47th Ward, but I have made a few friends in Heritage, too. It’s going to be hard for me to go home after being at college for ten months straight. I love this campus and going to school at BYU.

I’ve had three classes: Old Testament, Linear Algebra, and Basic Vocal Skills. All three have been challenging but very rewarding. I have increased my knowledge and understanding of the Bible many times over, for which I am very grateful. I’ve learned that I can enjoy math, as long as I put forth the effort to understand it. And I’ve become a much better, more confident soloist. (I even sang a solo in sacrament meeting a couple weeks ago, something I would never have had the courage to do a year ago.)

It’s so interesting and even tragic how we don’t fully realize how much we love and appreciate someone or something until we are forced to leave it. This happened with my friends winter semester, and now with my friends spring term, and with college in general. I am loathe to leave, except that I’ve got so many other things to do that I can’t do here.

I finally gave in and got a Facebook this weekend. I had told myself I wasn’t going to get one until after the mission, but peer pressure and my fascination with new toys convinced me to get one after all. I’ve enjoyed it so far. If any of my (loyal) readers aren’t already on my friend list, feel free to add me, if you like.

Comments are closed.

