Trolls

I just spent a while reading this post and the related comments on Bryant’s blog. Anonymous’s anti-Mormon comments still have not ceased to amaze me. I understand that members of the Church aren’t perfect, and I think we all need to accept that. But to rail on the Church as a whole and Mormons in general for the unbecoming actions of a small group is completely nonsensical. I just have to voice my opinion on the matter. I must agree with most of the other comments on the blog that endeavor to handle the subject kindly and tactfully. I am still astonished.I also read a post on Robert Scoble’s blog earlier today about trolls in the blogosphere and trolls in the real world. I have to say this whole Mountain Meadows massacre discussion on bethings is perhaps an instance of that. If we band together and don’t give him the attention he’s begging for, maybe he’ll go away.

I know what I believe, and I’m not going to let any anti-Mormon try to tell me what I believe.

11 Responses to Trolls

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hey Steven. First of all you should admit that you are a card-carrying member of a cult. Do a Google search on cults. You will find a list of things that constitute a cult. Every item on the list will confirm that the LDS is the largest cult to ever exist. And ya know what? That’s OK. Cults are perfectly legal and it doesn’t make you a bad person. Just go to a mirror and repeat after me, “I am a member of the LDS and I am a cult member.” There, now you have an identity. Keep sending that 10% to the Big House in SLC and all will be fine.

    [Edited]

  2. Steven says:

    I will admit I have been a bit harsh, and I probably shouldn’t have. I don’t hate you, and I’m not sure why you seem to hate us. I respect your opinions, and while I don’t agree with them, I’ll let you believe what you wish.

    I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. And I’m proud of that. You can tell me what you want to, but you cannot shake my beliefs. I know this Church is the true church on the earth today. Jesus Christ is our Savior and Redeemer. I know Joseph Smith and Brigham Young and Gordon B. Hinckley were prophets of God. I do not claim they were perfect, nor do I claim any other member of the Church is perfect. But I know God is leading this church today through his prophets.

    While I don’t really know where you are coming from, I would sincerely invite you to take a look at our teachings a little more carefully and consider them. I believe if you will do this with an honest heart, you will not find in them the blasphemy you see now. You seem to know a lot about our Church already, but I would invite you to see if perhaps there is truth in the things we teach.

    We are both Christian: let us be Christian toward each other! I don’t want to argue with you about religion, because it will not get us anywhere. I am firm in my beliefs, and I leave to you that same freedom.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Steven, I am glad you and I agree that the LDS religion is a cult. That is a good step forward if someday you want to free yourself from the web that has strangled your ability to think for yourself. Someday the LDS religion will go the way of the Roman Empire. It will crumble onto its self and that indeed will be a glorious day in history.
    Yes indeed I do know a lot about the dastardly LDS religion and I must admit that most of it is evil. Joseph Smith was one of the most evil men to walk the face of the earth. My goal is to educated every person on the planet of this about this evil, evil man. But dont take my word for it. Do a little research about Joseph Smith on your own. You will find out what a dastardly, evil, terrible, aweful person that he was.

  4. Anonymous says:

    Steven, I dont hate you. I dont hate anyone. I dont hate Joseph Smith. I dont hate Brigham Young. And I dont hate Adolf Hitler. But I certainly do hate Mormonism as much as I hate Nazism. To me there is very little difference between the two. Someday you too will come to the same conclusion.

  5. Steven says:

    I have no intentions of ever relinquishing my membership in the Church, nor would I ever wish to do so. It has brought me more peace and joy throughout my life than anything else I have ever done. One of my sincere desires in life is to share that gospel with others so they too can learn these things.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Steven, I suggest that you start by researching the life of Joseph Smith. [Edited]

    We live in a free country where we are allowed to worship as we please. I would not want it any other way.

    [Edited]

    I only hope that you will take the time and effort to find out who Joseph Smith really was. In time you will come to agree with me.

  7. Khulan says:

    Wow, you guys are having an intense conversation. It is pretty interesting to hear all these things that anonymous said. I have never thought about it before.

    But here’s my conclusion. Since we haven’t seen God yet, let’s just wait until the day comes🙂 I think we should believe in ourselves and the beliefs we carry. So this argument sounds totally unnecessary. None of you guys will lead each other’s opinion…..

  8. Mercado says:

    holy cow! whoever told you that was completely wrong. I don’t know any members of our faith that would say that. sounds like an answer a 12-year-old might give. I’ve been following this conversation, and Im really beginning to wonder where you are getting all of the rest of your information. You don’t really know what our religion is all about. if you look for information from anti-mormon sources your going to get anti-mormon ideas. I’m thinking you should take a moment to read at least something published by the church about our doctrine, or if you are truly interested in learning about who we are and what we believe we could try and correct some false Ideas that have been put in your head. Joseph Smith in place of God? Nothing could be further from the truth! You seem convinced that if research is done one would certainly come to the conclusion that Joseph Smith was a fraud. even if this issue were to be looked at from every point of view one would be filled with conflicting information and it would be impossible to be 100% sure of anything. We are a church that believes in present day personal revelation from God through the holy ghost. After serious study, if one has a real desire to know if Joseph Smith was a prophet, and they ask the Lord with sincerity to know what the truth is, he will reveal it. I know Joseph Smith was a prophet. I don’t think, or imagine, or simply believe he is a Prophet. i know it, and no amount of additional research is going to change that.

    You seem to mostly hate our past but can you hate mormonism now? after all the good our church does for the world? this is who we are.

    Article of Faith #13
    We believe in being honest, true, chaste, benevolent, virtuous, and in doing good to all men; indeed, we may say that we follow the admonition of Paul—We believe all things, we hope all things, we have endured many things, and hope to be able to endure all things. If there is anything virtuous, lovely, or of good report or praiseworthy, we seek after these things.

  9. Scarlet says:

    In several comments anonymous has stated that he/she wishes to let the whole world know of the LDS church and the error of its ways. If this is true than I feel you are going about it the wrong way. Slander is not a way to change our minds, or anyone’s mind. Along with the ancient Israelites, the Jews, Catholics, and early Protestants, we see slander and persecution as something to be endured by those who hold the truth. For the devil will do all he can to take truth from us.
    If you truly want us to believe or even consider your words than learn where we stand, and where we are coming from. If you have never listened to and studied the words of President Hinckley, than how do you know they are a lie? If you have never read the Book of Mormon, or True to the Faith, how did you know what we believe?
    I have listened to a prophet of God, Gordon B. Hinckley, and I have read the Book of Mormon and countless other volumes. I have studied this gospel with all of my heart, and my heart tells me that it is true. I know my Savior, Jesus Christ, and my Heavenly Father who I will see again at the judgement bar. I know that the Church of Jesus Christ is the restored and true Gospel. I know this without a shadow of a doubt, because I asked, because I found out for myself. I belong to a church that gives guidelines and instruction to help me live in true happiness. As members of the LDS Church are not asked to believe blindly, we are admonished to find out for our selves. To ask Heavenly Father if what it teaches is true. And I have, and continue to do so.
    I suggest, anonymous, that you find out for yourself what we believe, from our perspective. Then come back and talk to us about the difference between your beliefs and ours. From my study of world religions, there is not that much of a difference.
    There are many articles and websites, religious classes run by preachers and ministers that attack the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. If that is all that is read, than one has a very skewed perspective
    The bible admonishes us, meaning all Christians, to judge by the fruits. Please do so. God cannot support evil, and the Devil cannot support Good. There is good in all established religion of the world. Please, give a good and fair study, learn from devout members of this church, and see the lives they live. Look at the good that the church does for the world.
    I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, and it is my life, and it brings the joy that I find in this life.

  10. ragtime_jedi says:

    Anonymous, I don’t know who your LDS source was for the part that Joseph Smith will supposedly play in the judgment, but your friend’s claim is just wrong. Joseph Smith never made any claim that he was a divine being. The world will be judged by Jesus Christ, whose right it is to judge. Our “worship” of Joseph Smith is nothing more than the esteem that the Israelites had for the ancient prophets such as Moses or Elijah, imperfect but chosen men. As for President Hinckley, we have no paid clergy, so the idea that our tithing is going towards aggrandizing his lifestyle is unfounded. You can ask the church auditing department, an organization that acts independently of the rest of the church to review the use of our funds and make sure that they are used legally and morally. Our clergy do not get one cent for any time they spend in their ecclesiastical duties.
    I also cannot understand your analogy between our faith and Nazism. We are the only people in this country for which an extermination order has ever been issued. Are we Nazis when it is legal to shoot a Mormon on sight? I don’t see why you seem to believe that any people who adhere to traditional values are diabolical fascists. Hitler’s Final Solution was to eradicate the Jews. The “final solution” of the LDS Church, if you will, is to “invite all to come unto Christ.”

    If you refuse to consider any of the foregoing, I want you to know that there is a sure way to know whether the LDS Church is of God. Christ promised his disciples that he would send them a “Second Comforter,” the Holy Ghost. By the power of the Holy Ghost, you can know if Jesus is the Christ, if Joseph Smith was a prophet, and if the Book of Mormon is the word of God. The witness of the Holy Ghost enables a person with a desire to really know the truth to not be “carried about with every wind of doctrine,” but to know with conviction that which is true.
    If you will approach the church with an open mind, with a real desire to know, and with a willingness to act on what the Spirit will tell you, I can assure you that you can know that it is true. The Holy Ghost has testified to me personally that it is true. I know, and you can also know.

    If you want to really research the church, why not learn from God? Can there be any surer voice on the subject?

    I have found great joy in the Gospel of Jesus Christ that has been restored to the earth. My only wish is that you may have this same peace.

  11. Steven says:

    I thank everyone for their comments, but we are getting absolutely nowhere with this argument.

    Anonymous, nothing I can say will change your mind, and nothing you can say will change mine.

    You are welcome to comment on other posts on my blog, but let’s not have any discussions of this nature any more.

    I am closing comments on this post.

