Hello, WordPress!

So I just ported my old blog from Blogger to WordPress and have been quite satisfied so far. WordPress gives you a whole lot more control over just about everything than Blogger does, and it’s much easier to customize. Given, Blogger was simpler to set up and easier to use, but I like WordPress better overall so far.

One gripe I have is photos don’t work quite the same as on Blogger, but I’ll get used to it. It still works reasonably well. I hope I don’t use up my 50MB too quickly. πŸ˜‰

So, that’s the latest news here. Hello, WordPress!

5 Responses to Hello, WordPress!

  1. Steven says:

    Hey look, the comments are working too! Wahoo!

  2. smallgeek says:

    So, was it easy to move everything from Blogger to WordPress? Do they sort of go together so you can move back and forth without redoing everything? I like the spell checker in the comments, or maybe it’s just Firefox, I don’t know. I don’t like how you have to put your email, cause I don’t have one.😦 Good luck! I like the look of WordPress better, but what happened to the countdown?

    Bye!

  3. Steven says:

    I could choose whether to require email addresses or not, but I chose to enable it. That way I can contact people directly if I want to talk to them, and it will prevent some spam that I don’t want on here. Sorry that causes trouble for you, but thanks for commenting anyway. πŸ™‚

    Moving to WordPress was pretty easy, actually. Once I got all the settings configured, I just had it import everything directly from Blogger. I had to re-post most of the pictures so they wouldn’t be tied to Blogger when I delete that blog eventually. But I’m very pleased with WordPress overall.

  4. smallgeek says:

    Wow, that was a quick reply. I think I do like WordPress more, even though it takes a little bit longer to load than Blogger. Who makes WordPress? Google? Who? Well, I’d better go now, and thanks for the reply.πŸ™‚

    Smallgeek
    P.S. I like how it does the little emoticons if you type something like😦 orπŸ˜‰ orπŸ˜›, but I don’t know about that last one.

  5. Steven says:

    WordPress is free software written in PHP. WordPress.com is a hosting service run by a company called Automattic. It uses a version of WordPress called WordPress MU, which allows people to setup blogs without having to install WordPress software on their own servers.

    And yes, I enabled the emoticon images. Glad you like them.πŸ˜‰

