Seussical the Musical

Last night I attended Seussical the Musical at Spanish Fork Community Theater. It is based on many famous Dr. Seuss books, with quite a complicated plot. It was an excellent production. I have never seen a more intricate or elaborate set; the music was very well written; the actors performed wonderfully. However, it was a little too suggestive for my liking. Some of the actors in the Jungle of Nool and a few other scenes made me, shall we say, uncomfortable. UPDATE: I should qualify this. It wasn’t the musical itself that was suggestive, just the way some of the actors behaved on stage.

But on the whole, it was good. I am surprised but very impressed a company like SFCT was able to pull off a production of this scale and do it so well. Great work!

Has anyone else seen this musical or have any opinions to share about it?

One Response to Seussical the Musical

  1. Holly Bleggi says:

    I saw this musical at a high school up here in Washington. I loved it! I thought that it was a lot of fun. I don’t remember it being suggestive but it has been a while since I saw it. I know that BYU did this musical for one of their drama camps so it is a little wierd that you said it made you uncomfortable at times. I really liked the elephant, Horton. The music is wonderful and I know what you mean about the set. It was definately more elaborate than anything we did at me high school. I really enjoyed this musical.

