Following the BYU football game on Twitter

Here’s an interesting phenomenon for you. I was never so much into watching football games. But as I was reading through posts on TweetDeck (I just recently started using Twitter), I read this tweet by Phil Windley:

RT @gardenglen: for those who do not have the BYU v. Tulane game on … BYU 34 Tulane 3 end 3rd quarter #BYU #MWC

TweetDeck

34-3?!? That was so astonishing I had to search it out. I clicked on the #BYU link, which opened a separate search panel in TweetDeck. This pulled up all the recent tweets containing that hashtag. Most of those had score or play updates.

So, what do I do with this new-found tenchnological fascination? Follow the football game by listening to what people say about it.

UPDATE: Just a few minutes ago, voler tweeted this:

#BYU Rally event page… http://bit.ly/BYURally. Within minutes 1,155 invited.🙂 Bring it, BYU!

A Facebook event was created for the rally at the airport tonight at 9:00 pm to welcome home the triumphant Cougars. And within minutes the word got around to over 1,000 people!

Information travels quickly with Twitter and Facebook, eh?

One Response to Following the BYU football game on Twitter

  1. Sarah says:

    I love ‘watching’ the games on twitter. Since I usually don’t have time to sit down an watch it (and really, I only like watching games with other people who really like watching it), following the games on twitter is what I do.

    Yay for technology!

Leave a Reply

